My Science

I just returned from the annual meeting of the AAAS, where I was thoroughly impressed by the focus on science communication. Inspired by that experience, I’m posing this writing exercise to my scientist colleagues and friends.

______________________

Scientists: Fill in the blanks below with language that would leave a stranger so interested they want to learn more. Post your responses in the comments to this blog.

1. My science is about  ______(ten words max).

2. I became interested in my science when ______(ten words max).

3.  I stay intrigued by my science because  ______(ten words max).

4. Those of us who work on my science are stumped by _____(ten words max).

5. Here’s a link to an image that shows my science.  My caption for how this image depicts my science is the following: ______________(ten words max).

One response to “My Science

  1. Shane L. Larson

    1. My science is about: understanding gravity’s role in the evolution of the Cosmos.

    2. I became interested in my science when: I was very young. I don’t remember the first spark!

    3. I stay intrigued by my science because: I work at the boundaries of our knowledge and technology.

    4. Those of us who work on my science are stumped by: why the rest of the world doesn’t care as much as we do.

    5. Here’s a link to an image that shows my science. My caption for how this image depicts my science is the following:
    LINK: http://www.iau.org/static/archives/images/screen/iau0904a.jpg
    CAPTION: The desire to be connected to the Cosmos reflects a profound reality: we are connected. (I’m quoting Carl Sagan here…)

Leave a Reply

